Custom Projects · Gallery · Brochure · Testimonials · About Us · Contact Us
Home Builders
Custom Elevators
Planning Center
UT Planning Guide
Elevator Specifications
Project Process
Drive Systems
Safety Standards
Elevator Safety Standards

UT Elevator is committed to safety and is in full compliance with all governing technical codes and associations. Our senior staff are members of the Canadian Standards Association safety code committee for elevating devices (CSA B44-07/ASME A17.1-2007). We place paramount emphasis on end-user safety and ride quality when designing our elevating products. We back this up with user testimonials and our warranty programs.

When planning for building codes and permits it is imperative to find out which safety codes are relevant for your location before starting the design process begins. UT Elevator can assist you in the very beginning to ensure that there are no surprises later on.

Below is a listing of all the regulatory codes and standards in North America that overlap with the elevating industry. To the right you can view some useful definitions.

The governing bodies and safety codes that regulate ELEVATOR INSTALLATION are:

1. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): ASME 17.1 (5.3 concerning Private
    Residential Elevators)
2. Canadian Standards Association (CSA): B44
3. Local and State Codes.

The governing bodies and safety codes that regulate SHAFT CONSTRUCTION are:

1. International Code Council (ICC): International Building Code (IBC).
2. National Building Code (NBC) – Canadian
3. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): ASME 17.1 (5.3 concerning Private
    Residential Elevators)



Codes are legal requirements for building that are enforced by the local jurisdiction, such as city, county, or state. In the U.S., most building codes are based on the model codes published by the International Code Council, a private, not for profit, codes and standards development organization.


Standards are voluntary recommendations for good building practice that are usually developed and published by organizations with an interest in the construction industry. For example, AAMA/WDMA/CSA 101/I.S.2/A440-08, NAFS, North American Standard/Specification for windows, doors and skylights is a performance standard developed by a group of window and door industry trade associations. On its own, this particular standard is voluntary. But since it has become adopted by reference into the model building codes, its requirements have also become legally mandatory.


Specifications are written documents that detail quality of materials and methods of construction. Specifications may be written by the design team and become enforceable as part of the construction documents for a construction project. Or, like standards, they may be written by any number of private parties and remain either voluntary, or, if adopted into the codes, become legally mandated.

Copyright © 2009 UT Elevator     Privacy Policy